"Slightly Above Below Average"

In the words of many in the guitar world, "This might be the greatest compilation of legendary guitarists of all time on one recording!" This all star roster of artists pays tribute to their friend and hero, Chet Atkins, by donating their artistry to financially benefit the Chet Atkins Educational Fund. At the encouragement and support of the Atkins Family and the Chet Atkins Professional Trust, John McClellan has embarked upon a 9 year project of recording some of the master's greatest music with his friends....music greats in their own right!

The uniqueness of this tribute lies in the diversity of music and artists heard:


  • Mark Knopfler
  • Janis Ian
  • Vince Gill
  • Suzy Bogguss
  • Martin Taylor
  • Tommy Emmanuel
  • The Los Angeles Guitar Quartet
  • Kevin Eubanks
  • Boots Randolph
  • Frank Vignola
  • Brent Mason
  • Johnny Hiland
  • Jerry Donahue
  • Ray Flacke
  • Richard Smith
  • Jack Pearson
  • Charlie McCoy
  • Meagan Taylor
  • Pat Bergenson
  • Bill Piburn
  • Terry Wedding
  • Corey Christiansen
  • Redd Volkaert
  • Tim Thompson
  • Don Jones
  • Darrly Dybka
  • Doug Jernigan
  • Mark Casstevens
  • Marcus Finnie
  • Kenny Malone
  • Cactus Moser
  • Jim Ferguson
  • and many others...


  • 1. Caravan with Vince Gill
  • 2. Smile with Suzy Bogguss
  • 3. Choro da Saudade
  • 4. Terry's Wedding
  • 5. 12th Street Rag with Fank Vignola and Vinny Raniola
  • 6. When You Wish Upon a Star
  • 7. Drive In with Jack Pearson
  • 8. Going Home with Meagan Taylor
  • 9. Muskrat Ramble
  • 10. Waltz for Leona (WORLD PREMIERE piece composed by Jorge Morel)
  • 11. Galloping on the Guitar with Ray Flacke
  • 12. Country Gentleman with Martin Taylor
  • 13. How's the World Treating You with the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet
  • 14. Avalon with Boots Randolph
  • 15. Deed I Do with Corey Christiansen
  • 16. Amanda
  • 17. Just Guitars with Don Jones
  • 18. Baby's Coming Home with Tim Thompson
  • 19. Manha de Carnival with Janis Ian and Kevin Eubanks
  • 20. Ave Maria with Tommy Emmanuel and Kirk Hanser
  • 21. The End of the World with Bill Piburn
  • 22. Slightly Above Below Average with the Superpickers

This recording is ONLY available here. It is limited release and is NOT available from any downloadable source....please hurry to purchase your copy now.

CD Purchase Pricing

The price of each CD is $15.00 plus shipping and handling. Please select your shipping location in the box below and you can process your payment through PayPal.

Total prices for different shipping locations are (in US Dollars $):

  1. United States and Canada: $15.00 dvd + $3.00 shipping = $18.00
  2. International: $15.00 dvd + $6.00 shipping = $21.00

More Details

Favorite Links